The value of a dollar

Sorry to leave you all hanging there last week.  It’s for the best though.  It was a BUI (blogging under the influence).  Combo that with the nature of that post and it was going no place good.

I’ve been meaning to post pictures of the insane snow storm we’ve had but at this point, it’s old news.  Instead, I sit here listening to the pitter patter of…water…finding its’ way into my house from a thousand different spots.  The place looks ridiculous…with pots and towels everywhere to catch all the leaks.

We called in an emergency roofer and filed a claim with our home owners insurance.  This is the part that gets me the  most upset.  Our deductible is $1000.  Do you know what I think of when I hear that something costs $1000?  To me, that’s an HSG and one cycle’s worth of meds for an IUI.  It’s a chance at a baby.  Then , there is a stupid $250 fee for filing a claim.  As if the money I pay them every year isn’t enough.  Do you know what that is?  That’s 2 bloodwork/ultrasound appointments.  Again, part of the chance at a baby.  Here’s the kicker, the  really bad news.  The roofer says we need a new roof.  Yup, a whole new roof.  There is too much water damage to spot fix it.  If our insurance will not cover it (and right now they say they won’t), it’s at least $10,000.  Ten thousand.  10K.  No matter how I write it, it means the same thing.  It means no sibling for Sweetness.  At least not in the foreseeable future.  It means I vacuum pack the maternity and baby clothes and bring them to my mom’s storage unit.  We do NOT have that kind of money lying around…or anywhere for that matter.  We blew through our savings the last few years, first on treatments, then my leave, then my second leave when Sweetness needed PT.  And then I went back to work part time; great for my mental health, not so great for the savings account. 

So while other people are joking and laughing about the baby boom we’ll see around here in 9 months, all I can think about is how this fucking storm took away my chance at another baby.  At least for a (long) while.  And it sucks

February 13, 2010. Uncategorized.

8 Comments

  1. Heather replied:

    I’m so sorry.

    I can’t even figure out the word to describe exactly how much I HATE that money dictates our family size.

  2. Michell replied:

    I hear you. The whole money aspect of IF sucks beyond measure.

  3. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    Oh wow, that sucks so much that I don’t even have the words to describe the suckage. I really wish there was something we could do.

  4. JJ replied:

    We had the roof issues a few months ago—so I feel your pain…Im so sorry. And its even crappier that it delays plans for trying again soon. I hate that the $ aspect of IF determines so many of our actions. ((hugs))

  5. Bean replied:

    That just sucks, sucks, sucks on so many levels! I’m soooo sorry.

  6. Rebecca replied:

    Ugh…I wonder if you could ask them to waive the filing fee…that’s ridiculous! Hope you get a silver lining soon…

  7. Calliope replied:

    oh man. I am so so sorry. Hoping there is a way. I always hope.

  8. scarredbellybutton replied:

    I’m so sorry. I hope the ins co covers it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI