Long lost crush

I re-connected with a crush I haven’t seen in almost 5 years on Tuesday.  And in the end it disappointed

Before I get into how crazy this makes me, let me give you a little background.

I’ve been told that I have crazy high standards for my doctors.  I don’t think there is anything wrong with expecting doctors to ask questions instead of speak to you, make eye contact with you, read your chart  before entering the exam room, utilize the latest technologies, and be accessible.  And that is just my short list, it’s actually longer.  But on top of that, I need to have a certain je ne sais quoi with my doctors.  Something that puts my love for them over the edge.  And with everyone except my PCP (who I never see), I do.  And it makes me happy.  You’ve all heard me go on and on about my RE, it’s like that.  I need something like that with every medical provider I have

That je ne sais quoi with my old dentist was his eyes.  Good eyes are actually on my dentist checklist because you stare up at them when you’re getting your teeth cleaned.  I think dentists should be screened for it as part of their dental school application.  So Dr S had amazing blue eyes, the best I have ever seen.  I happily made my appointment every 6  months and one day and counted the minutes until the stupid hygienest was done.  His office was so far away and so terribly inconvenient but I didn’t care.  I had a big time Dr crush on him.  And then I went and got married….and my insurance changed.  This change was fantastic because I got to go to MUCH better doctors except I lost my Dr S.  And I wandered around aimlessly trying to find a new dentist for 5 years.  And my teeth hated me for it, because I certainly was NOT going every 6 months anymore.

And then last month I decided to call Dr S’ office to see if just maybe he started taking my insurance.  The office still doesn’t but Dr S has moved.  Some quick, frantic googling revealed that his new practice was only 10 minutes away from my house.  AND he took my insurance.  I booked the first appointment I could.

When Tuesday rolled around I was actually nervous.  Would he fit all of my other doctor criteria?  Would he have aged well?

I got there, filled out the forms, and finally got called back.  They had awesome new technology–the x-ray was a USB and my teeth appeared right on the monitor next to me.  You could blow them up and everything.  And the hygienist was good.  But then came the magical moment….Dr S came in.  Oh his eyes.  But it gets even better.  He has shaved his head!  I LOVE a bald and beautiful man.  I keep begging Mr H to drop his stupid Pr.opecia prescription and just shave it off but he won’t.  We talk, I tell him my story about how I re-found him and I expect this wonderful moment.  And then he says, “My wife and I decided to go into practice together”.  His wife.  I knew he wore a wedding ring but I liked to think he could just jump onto that dental chair with me.  Totally can’t do that with his wife in the next room!

So I’m glad I’ve got a good dentist who cares about my teeth and doesn’t think I need 3 crowns like the past one did.  And I will happily stare up at his blue eyes and shaved head while he examines my mouth…and I will try not to shoot his partner and wife daggers with my eyes when I see her in 6 months and 1 day

February 25, 2010. Uncategorized.

5 Comments

  1. Michell replied:

    Hehehe. I LOVE bald guys too. Glad you got your dentist back. I hate finding a new one and I really need to. I had one here I liked and my insurance changed Dental plans this year and the office doesn’t take mine. So I still haven’t had my teeth cleaned and they are horribly over due.

  2. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    One of Matt’s friends has pretty eyes. Maybe I should have him become a dentist.

  3. Heather replied:

    I’m sorry. I need a picture.
    Thank you.

  4. Rebecca replied:

    That is hysterical! That poor wife…she’s probably going to be wondering why you hate her so much!

  5. sara replied:

    I too am a sucker for beautiful eyes and a smooth head! Wait…that almost sounded dirty..didn’t it? But yes….do you think he would object to you posting some pics for the rest of us to drool over? haha!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI