housekeeping 101

This post could be alternatively titled “How stupid am I?”

A while ago another brilliant blogger mentioned getting a waterproof pillow cover because when toddlers get sick in the night, it ruins their pillow.  I thought this was just about the smartest thing I had ever read and said I was going to get one right away.  Well right away turned into still haven’t done it yet.  In my defense, I did have a baby in the meantime but really?  I do enough online shopping that I should have added it to the cart.

Fast forward, Sophie has had a stomach bug since last Thursday.  Yes, the last 6 days I have been dealing with some serious vomit.  Have I gotten a waterproof pillow cover yet?  Of course not?  How many pillows have I gone through?  4 so far.  And the best part, instead of going out to the store and buying one right now while I have the chance, I am instead blogging about how I don’t have one.  Moronic, right?

Back when she was in a crib, I used to do the sheet lasagna (waterproof cover, sheet, waterproof cover, sheet, waterproof cover, sheet).  It worked wonders.  When she switched to a toddler bed did I continue?  Of course not.  For some reason I thought that toddlers don’t get their bedsheets ruined?  Again, moron.  And yet again, instead of re-lasanga-ing her bed, I am just doing load upon load of laundry. 

So now I’m just crossing my fingers and hoping for a puke-free night.  She’s got the weirdest stomach bug ever.  She’s fine during the day and then pukes her brains out all night long.  It’s awesome

December 29, 2010. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    My sister once threw up on her pillow and kept sleeping. Gross. She was significantly older though- like eight or nine?

    My mom kept the waterproof sheet on my bed until I was ten or eleven, I think. She just had it in her mindset that it belonged on that bed and never took it off. My sister got bunk beds at some point and didn’t have waterproof covers on them. I had to insist that she take it off. And it was before today’s technology too, so it was a plastic sheet and it crunched when you rolled on it.

  2. BigP's Heather replied:

    I hope she gets better soon! That has to be miserable for everyone.

  3. Michell replied:

    Lol. I hope the puking is over and done with.

  4. A'Dell replied:

    HA HA HA! It’s awful, isn’t it? And the throwing the pillows away part just makes it worse. I hope she feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI