Be my doctor

I’m still working on a 2010 post and hopefully I’ll get it up before I have to start working on my 2011 one but first I need some advice and the internet is the best place. 

After Sophie was born my OB gave me a script for the mini pill but I never filled it.  And then I ended up being the infertility urban legend.  Now I know that the odds of it happening again are slim to none but the thought of 3 kids under 3 makes me cringe. 

I’m leaning  towards an IUD, mostly because I don’t want to think about it.  Now here is where I ask you all if you’ve got one and what do you think.  I didn’t know there where different types.  M.irena scares me because it is hormonal and the pill made me crazy.  Seriously crazy.  I went off it right after we got married and I seriously can not believe hubby agreed to marry me when I was that insane.  The other one (that starts with a P, can’t remember the name right now) has side effects in 10% of women.  I keep having to remind myself that means 90% have no problem at all.

So make my decision for me.  My OB gave my a rx for the mini pill saying if I had problems with that I’d also have problems with the Mi.rena.  Totally makes sense but I’m actually scared about the potential crazies.  Which kinda makes me think I’ve made my decision…

Anyway, bring on the assvice 😉

January 1, 2011. Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    We do the Fertility Awareness Method. I am really happy with it, but it does take thinking about.

  2. A'Dell replied:

    IUDs freak me out on principle, which is kind of dumb, but they do anyway.

    Why not just try the mini pill and if it sucks then try a different one? Only way to know is to try it and there are SO MANY pills these days surely one of them would be a good combo for you?

    Or what about an IUD that is a simple barrier and doesn’t release hormones? Do they make those?

    Or, what about going back to your OB (or just calling, no need to waste a co-pay on a question) and tell her all of these things and see if she has a THIRD solution that maybe you haven’t even considered. B/c this is totally not an uncommon problem – surely she has good thoughts.

  3. A'Dell replied:

    PS I am SO HAPPY you are going to write here more.

  4. Deborah replied:

    I have the Paragard (the one whose name you couldn’t remember) because I liked not having to think about it and not being on hormones either. For the first few months my period was crazy heavy – I’d put in a tampon when I got up, and by the time I got to work I’d need a new one. It was a little frustrating. But now it’s leveled out a bit, and I’m really happy with the IUD.

  5. Michell replied:

    No clue. It’s been so dang long since I’ve needed to think about or worry about birth control. I hope you find something that works though. I hear you on anything hormonal. They do me no favors either.

  6. Rebecca @ Unexplained X2 replied:

    I have the Mirena and love it. I also had trouble with the pill, but I have had absolutely no issues with the Mirena. I love it and I barely get periods anymore…HUGE BONUS!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI