Death by spit up

Literally.

I know I swore up and down that I was going to post more and I had every intention of doing so but then I started to drown in spit up.  I never knew babies could spit up like this.  With Sophie, people would ask me if she spat up and I would say yeah, don’t all babies?  I was WRONG.  Seriously, Amelia has the ability to cover every square inch in spit up.  Every surface is covered in burp clothes and I honestly don’t know why I even bother putting on clean clothes.  And the distance!  If projectile vomiting was an Olympic sport, we’d all be crying as they played the national anthem.  She’s still in our room because at night she chokes on it and I’m too nervous to have her be down the hall.  Oh and she smells like sour milk all the time.  It’s awesome.  Doctor says she has an immature valve that causes the reflux (aka projectile spewing) and there is nothing they can do except wait it out.  She shows none of the symptoms of acid reflux (aside from the spitting up) and doesn’t ever appear to be in pain so none of the meds will help. 

While treading spit up I have declared several things that someone in charge should change about babyhood

– toenails should not grow until the child is capable of cutting them him/herself.  Sophie still doesn’t like to have me cut her toenails and frankly I’m tired of dealing with her weekly pedicure.  I haven’t even tried to do the baby’s yet. 

– babies should not be allowed to grow out of one containment device until they fit into another.  Amelia’s knees are hanging over the edge of the bouncy seat but she still doesn’t have enough head control for the bumpo.  What am I supposed to do?  I need a baby jail.

Anyone else have a projectile spewer?  How long till it got better?

January 26, 2011. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. Fashion Dude replied:

    I don’t – but I hope everything goes well with her!

  2. g replied:

    We had horrific back-arching failure to thrive reflux, but the spit up itself took over a year to resolve- took walking UPRIGHT to solve it.

    Naan used to vomit on me about twenty to thirty times a day and every thime she rolled over? Spew. It does improve, though 🙂

    g

  3. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    Sometimes Elizabeth will let me cut her toenails if I ask her to stick her foot out through the crib bars. Apparently that is interesting enough to warrant a pedicure. Otherwise, Matt has to hold her and distract her with videos while I cut as fast as I can. So I agree.

  4. Rebecca @ Unexplained X2 replied:

    This sounds horrible…I am so sorry. My kids weren’t bad, so I have no advice whatsoever…helpful, ain’t I?

    Have you tried gently filing? I only ask b/c I literally cut Hailey’s finger the first time I tried to trip her nails and promptly gave up on doing it. From then on, Husband did it, but filing was my game. I could file the crap out of a toddler/baby nail. Not a nice feeling for the baby though, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI