Bruised and battered

I’ve got both kids asleep at the same time and I should be prepping dinner, unloading the dishwasher, doing laundry, putting away the massive piles of clothes Amelia has outgrown, or writing the report I owe a client but instead I coming up to you asking for help once again.  I know, I’m very needy and high maintenance.

Here’s the problem: In the past 10 days my poor little baby has gotten a bloody nose and 3 bruises to the eye/eyebrow.  How you ask?  Her crib….the place she should be safe and sleep.  Let me start with a picture and explain.

First, let me comment that she did this one day after she turned 8 months old.  Unacceptable!  Would you look at that grin?  So damn proud of herself. Of course  I immediately lowered the mattress.  Except that now when she stands up, that horizontal bar is exactly at nose/eye level.  Which means that she bumps her nose or eyes constantly.  The other night she was standing up talking, I heard the bump and subsequent shriek and by the time I ran the 15 feet into her room she had rubbed blood ALL over her little face.  It was everywhere.  And let me tell you, there are few things more tragic looking than bright red blood dripping down the rails of a white crib.  It could have been the opening sequence to a horror movie. 

I’ve taken to amazon to try to find something to protect her but all of the covers are just meant to protect the CRIB from teething.  I need to protect the BABY from the crib.  Crazy right?  Anyone have any ideas?  At this point I’m thinking of just having something made so I know it’ll have nice thick padding. 

And while we’re on the subject of cribs attacking can I also add that I just had to remove the fancy breathable bumper that went around the crib because my crazy baby kept banging her head, arms, and legs all night long.  She seriously had bruises all over her last week.  She’d roll over in the night, I’d wake up to a loud ‘thump’, and then she’d be screaming.  After calming her down she’d freak when I’d go to put her back in there.  And can you blame her??  So now she has the thick, quilted, suffocation risk bumper up in there.  And no wake ups from head or leg bumps!  Notice I did not say no wake ups at all….teething is kicking all our asses but I’ll have to take what I can get

And please someone tell me that they had these problems too?  People look at me like I’m the worst mother ever when I tell them she got a bloody nose in her crib

August 6, 2011. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    Yes. I made a crib teether for Elizabeth’s crib because her crib rails were a weird size and I didn’t know the cloth ones were available for sale. So I am guessing you could make one of those and just make it thick enough to protect her from bumps. Here’s the tutorial I looked at before I made ours: http://www.babyrabies.com/2009/02/shes-crafty/ Also, I am guessing you could probably get some of those thick, quilted, suffocation risk bumpers and modify them into a top of the crib rail protector of the baby. I’ve since thought that that would probably have been easier than making my own from scratch.

    For some reason, Elizabeth never did give herself a bloody nose on the crib. She did give herself a black eye on the couch. And bit through her lip falling off a table. 🙂

  2. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    Or, I am finding a bunch of padded ones on Etsy. You are obviously not the only one this has happened to. http://www.etsy.com/listing/45281572/crib-teething-rail-to-fit-any-crib

  3. Bean replied:

    For what it’s worth, we didn’t have any bloody noses, but we did (and sometimes still do) have wakeups due to a crazy flailing baby whacking the crib with various body parts. You are NOT alone!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI