The one where I make up excuses for myself yet again

Yeah, I know, I said I was going to get back into blogging, write a few posts, and then disappear.  Not cool, I know.  And this time I don’t have the excuse of licking my wounds after the big bad internet was mean to me.  The only thing I have to say is that 3 year olds are exhausting.  And 10 months old are equally, if differently, exhausting.  And we’re running a serious deficit in our monthly budget so I’ve been trying to consult and work more.  But that is a whole other post.

So yeah, my only news is that 3 year old are hard, hard work.  Which is hardly news to anyone who has ever met one before.  It astounds me how she can be the sweetest, most obedient little angel one minute and then go bat shit crazy the next.  Over NOTHING.  I’ve never been one for parenting books (because seriously, when did the word “parent” become a verb.  All this ‘parenting’ nonsense drives me crazy).  I also have never gotten into the discipline books figuring that I’ve got a masters in behavior change and have done it for a living with other people’s kids for 12 years.  But it’s much easier to deal with someone else’s child between 9 and 3 each day then it is to remain calm, neutral, and positive with your own 24/7.  Which is just a long way of saying I’ve got to hit the library and find some books for how on earth to handle this child.  More specifically, how to get her to sleep at night.  If there wasn’t a 90 minute battle each night I think I could handle the rest of the day better.  Because by the end of the day I am DONE and…she is too.  There is only so much time two females can spend together before it gets unhealthy and unproductive, regardless of age. 

So that’s where I’m at, and why I haven’t been posting as much.  Because after bedtime battles all I want to do is pour myself a glass of wine and veg in bed.  But instead I do the dishes, or laundry, or wash bottles, or pump, or pick up the stupid pieces of the ever-loving (like how I’m working on the cursing?) train set for the thousandth time.   But I’m going to try to do better.

September 22, 2011. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    I like the Happiest Toddler on the Block book, mainly because I was already doing a lot of the things in it and just got a couple more ideas. I’ve also heard good things about Your Three Year Old: Friend or Enemy (or something like that) lately. I haven’t read that one yet, I just ordered it. I only like parenting books that already align with my style already.

  2. Rebecca @ Unexplained X2 replied:

    “Ever-loving…”

    I think you’re doing awesome.

    Three year olds are no joke…seriously.

    1-2-3 Magic works pretty well in our house and I just introduced some reward charts and jars…we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI