The hard questions

S is a very inquisitive little girl and has suddenly started asking those hard questions.

• How did A get in your belly? (This was followed with a “can we put her back?)

• How do babies get out of the bellies?

• Where did G’s grandma go? (asked after she died)

• Why is M brown?

Those are all I can think of right now (and per my last post, I’m writing this sitting in the car before work). I’m not prepared for this. I thought I had awhile before she started asking the tough questions. The one about her friend M was the only time I had a good answer because I knew it’d be coming soon. But the others..any tips on how to answer in a way she’ll understand?

October 15, 2011. Uncategorized.

5 Comments

  1. deborah replied:

    What did you answer about why M is brown? I think I would’ve said “because everyne is different” and followed up with some discussion of other differences: hair color, gender, etc.

    My son is biracial, so he asks about race a lot.

  2. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    Yes, my advice is for you to figure this all out, and then write it down here so that I can copy you when my time comes. Thank you in advance. 😉

  3. Battynurse replied:

    Not a clue but I love the “can we put her back?”

  4. A'Dell replied:

    I try to just tell her the truth but in GROSSLY SIMPLIFIED terms. Most of the time she loses interest, which tells me that even my overly simplified answer was too complex.

  5. Not on Fire replied:

    Okay, here is my 2 cents.

    Babies get into a mummy’s tummy (or uterus) because a Mummy and Daddy love each other so much that that wanted a baby. Sometimes a Mummy and Daddy need to go to a doctor for help. Most of the time babies just come from the love between a Mummy and a Daddy. And, uh, no, the baby cannot go back. The baby comes out when he or she is too big to stay in any more.

    Babies get out of your belly in one of two ways, either you have a doctor cut an opening in the tummy to take out the baby or the baby comes from a hole between a women’s legs. The hole is called a vagina. Only girls have vaginas.

    Grandma went to heaven. You can then discuss your version of what heaven is.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI