Jumping on the bandwagon

During November pretty much everyone and their mother was posting about Advent calendars.  I’d like to say I was inspired but mostly I was desperate for something to snap S out of her cycle of movies, TV, and general crankiness whenever not watching a movie or TV.  So I made a December calendar stealing ideas from many of you.  I’m not calling it an Advent calendar per se, what with the whole hubs being Jewish and some of our activities being help mommy get the menorah ready, play dreidels, make latkes, etc. 

So far it’s working pretty well.  She’s genuinely excited to see what’s in the bag every morning.  And it wasn’t really that much work to set up and do.  I”m thinking setting up some version of it long term.  Probably on a weekly basis…and without the brown lunch bags draped across my kitchen.  It forces me to at the very least have something planned for the day which is key in keeping S tantrum free.

So far we’ve opened Christmas books, made paper snowflakes, opened a Christmas movie, went to Christmas at a farm, and ummm…it’s the 7th so I really should be able to remember the last week 😉  Being the non-committal person that I am, I only fill in a few days of bags at a time.  This way I can move things around as needed.

So please everyone, keep on posting your wonderful parenting ideas that I can continue to steal and get credit for 😉

December 7, 2011. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. BigP's Heather replied:

    We made applesauce ornaments (we made snowmen and stars and crosses, but you could do any cookie cutters you have: hearts, stars, snowflakes, snowmen, etc). Super easy – mix applesauce and lots of cinnamon until it is a “dough” – roll out (or squish with hands like we did since I don’t own a rolling pin) cut out and we used a straw to punch a hole for string to hang them later. Then bake at 200 degrees for a few hours. I flipped them once after an hour to make sure they dry.

    K loved mixing and squishing and picking cookie cutters out (of course, picking/buying cookie cutters could be one activity and making them another if you don’t have cookie cutters). And my house smelled divine all day long. BigP hates the smell which is an added bonus for me.

  2. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    I’ve started a pinterest board for advent activity ideas. We aren’t going to do all of these this year, but steal away. http://pinterest.com/herewegoajen/advent-activity-ideas/ I think I am going to do the glue one next.

  3. Rebecca @ Unexplained X2 replied:

    Pinterest is saving my life this holiday season…thank God for being able to pilfer off of other’s brainchildrens…nope, that makes no sense whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI