Today is the day that I hug S a little tighter and give her a few extra kisses.  Four years ago today I had the IUI that brought me my little girl.  I’ve posted about the day several times before so I won’t bore you with the stories again (but dear god the woman with her kids still drives me crazy).  On one hand, it surprises me that I still remember the day.  It was four years ago after all.  And it was just a day.  And then on the other hand, I can’t imagine not remembering.   I know that most people do not remember the exact day and time their child was conceived.  I don’t for A.  It’s weird. 

Every year I ruminate on this a little bit but this year has been worse for some reason.  There have been a couple of things the last few months that have picked at the old IF scab.  They aren’t my stories to tell so I haven’t blogged it.  I can sum it up by saying I’m really having a hard time with people taking their pregnancies for granted.  So today I’m again thinking of the me that sat in that waiting room and went through all that crap.  And am just so beyond thankful that I was able to go through all that crap and get that little girl.  Who, while the most frustrating human being I’ve ever met, is also one of the most amazing.

December 23, 2011. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. deborah replied:

    Happy, um, Conception Day! I’ve often wondered what it would feel like to have one child conceived through ART and the other more quickly/normally (ok, it’s just wishful thinking). But I’m glad you have an extra day to appreciate your eldest. You described age 3 pretty well!

  2. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    Happy Creation Day, S!

    I am having the same feelings lately about people taking their pregnancies and kids for granted. Facebook is the worst for that. People really just don’t get it.

  3. peesticksandstones replied:

    I can relate to so much of what you have mentioned here. Thank you for the reminder to start writing down some of these things my son says — I keep meaning to do it, but forget constantly. I’m loving this age (he’s 2 1/2), and it is exciting to know it’s only going to get better.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI