Degrees of separation

Usually when there is some tragedy related to children that the media takes hold of I do one of two things depending on my mental health; ignore it all or obsessively watch every second of it.  When this recent tragedy struck, I couldn’t stop watching the house burn while giving A her morning bottle.  And I was about to start my obsessive cycle of watching and crying.  In my own sick way, I was planning on watching the news while S was in school and the baby napped so I could sob my way through it.  And I started to do just that. 

And then I got an email from the director of our preschool with the subject ‘sad news’.  It didn’t reference all of the details but said that the sister of one of the moms went missing over the weekend and this morning her two nephews died.  It went on to give details on meals for the family and help with travel expenses so she can attend the boys funerals and be with her family.  And then I turned off the tv and went to throw up.  And I can’t watch any of it anymore.  It is far too real.  While I do not know her well, it is all still waaay to close to home.  We’ve sat next to each other and bitched about nightmare bedtimes. 

Hubs had one of the specials on last night and I couldn’t get him to turn it off fast enough.  It is just so tragic.  And the ripple effect so far reaching.  Three year olds shouldn’t have to be worried about their cousins dying and shouldn’t, at the mention of lighting a fire in the fireplace, start crying that she might die and her cousins will miss her.  And I can’t explain it to her, because I certainly can’t explain it to myself. 

I hope this doesn’t come across as sounding all about me.  I’m not even sure why I’m writing about it.  I just can’t get that poor women and those children out of my head.  And her sister.  Not only is she living it, but she can’t escape hearing about it.  Every news channel, blogs, everywhere.  And that’s why I can’t watch anything about it, I feel like I’m rubbernecking at a disastrous car crash.  And I just want to give her the privacy she deserves.    Once again, I made a lasagna and a huge vat of bolognese sauce and dropped it off at their house with a toy story game for the kids. 

I just don’t know what else to say…

February 9, 2012. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    That’s awful. I know what you mean about not knowing what to say.

  2. Rebecca @ Unexplained X2 replied:

    I don’t think there is a right thing to say in such a nonsensical situation. I’m glad you wrote about it…sometimes you just have to put it out there.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI