Waiting for the third shoe to drop

Sunday, while at a birthday party for one of S’s friends from school, another mom came over and said real fast, “We needed to let you know that all of us are leaving next year and enrolling the kids at school x.”  And then ran away.  Well, she had to run away because it was a pool party at an indoor water park so everyone had to be paying attention to the kids but still…damn.  There is a core group of moms that have been involved in the school for years (all had older kids that went there), two even co-chair the board of the school, and one day when they were out they got to talking and realized that they all wanted to go. So they found another school that is willing to absorb the entire class.  And I’ve got to decide rather quickly what to do.  I’m going to try to get more info from them this week.  I did get a chance to talk to one other mom about her reasons and they were less about the school and more about the direction the synagogue was going.  I could care less about that.  We aren’t members and have no intention of becoming one.  So I figure my three options are to

 1) go with the rest of the class. Not sure how I feel about this one, I need to find out more info about the other school but already a big negative is that it is 25 minutes away, maybe over 30 in traffic. 

2) stay where we are.   And have S be the only person in the class???  I guess they would try to fill it but what if they can’t?  What if they don’t have a class and then I’m screwed?

3) go to a totally different school.  When I picked this school for S, I was somewhat limited because it was the middle of the year.  I needed a school that had an opening in the 2’s class and also didn’t require them to be potty trained.  Now I can look around a little bit more and see what’s out there.  Although before, even though I was limited, this was the school I liked the most. 

So that’s the first thing I’m stressed about.  And then this afternoon when I came home from work, the babysitter who I love and the kids ADORE, told me that in two weeks, she isn’t going to be available on Tuesday’s anymore.  And she has no other availability.  Sucks!  I can’t really blame her.  She’s an adjunct professor so she is highly over qualified for babysitting and was asked to cove another class whose professor is going on medical leave.  Obviously she can’t turn that down.  But it sucks.  It is  SO FREAKING hard to find a babysitter.  I am impossibly picky and went through ALOT of sitters before finding her.  I just don’t want to do it all over again.   I know…wah, wah, wah

So now I’m just waiting for the third shoe to drop…

 

February 21, 2012. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Deborah replied:

    Wow. Exactly what direction is the synagogue going in that they need to take such strong measures? I definitely think I would not move with the rest of them. If you like it, stay put. The school will find other students, I’m sure. They can’t just close down! Otherwise, look around and find a new school on your own. Those parents sound weird to me.

  2. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    No, you are good now, there are only two shoes so they have all dropped already! As long as they are shoes, if they are bad things, those come in threes.

    My primary choice in picking a school is having it close to our house. There are two, so I am going with the one our neighbor is sending her kid to. In a year and a half.

  3. Rebecca @ Unexplained X2 replied:

    So, what are you going to do? I read this post ages ago, but have been so far behind on reading blogs (and commenting) that I just got back to it. This is such a hard decision!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI