My confession

I know I’ve been posting a bunch lately about our lack of money and me working more so what I am about to say probably sounds completely and totally hypocritical.  I re-hired our cleaning lady to come every 2 weeks.  Yes, I’m working more but do I still have time to clean the house?  Yes.  If I’m honest with myself, do we really have the money?  No.  Do I care that we don’t really have the money?  Big no

I love the whole house being clean at the same time.  Love it!  No matter how much I clean, that never happens.  And this gives me time to do all the other house projects I want to do, instead of the never ending cycle of cleaning kitchens and bathrooms but never actually getting them as clean as they should be.

So yeah, I’m that stay at home mom who has a cleaning lady. Judge away…

February 23, 2012. Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. LJ replied:

    Woman, please. Best advice I ever got from my MIL was to get one. Saves my sanity, and I am betting yours too!

  2. HereWeGoAJen replied:

    I think it’s great. We all pick and choose our splurges and I think a cleaning lady is a lot more practical than most. And if you ever feel guilty, my mom had a cleaning lady for years, after my dad retired and my sister and I had long moved out.

  3. Deborah replied:

    Oh, how I wish I could afford a cleaning lady!

    If it makes you feel better, I work part-time and send my son to preschool fulll-time. Sometimes it makes me feel super-lazy and guilty, but other times it just makes me feel sane. We all have our things. 🙂

  4. BigP's Heather replied:

    I’m not judging. I sure am jealous!!!

  5. A'Dell replied:

    I, uh, am a SAHM with a biweekly housekeeper. AND I LOVE HER SO MUCH.

  6. Rebecca @ Unexplained X2 replied:

    Me too, sister! Right now she’s only once a month, but Husband thinks we really need twice a month…I’m a very lucky woman.

  7. Gina replied:

    I just want to say, thank you for posting this. Since you posted this, I have been thinking about rehiring our cleaning service. We had it when I was pregnant the first time, and working full-time. But since I went part-time, we couldn’t justify it. Now, pregnant with our second, and feeling tired and frustrated with never having a clean house, I’m feeling like this might be so worth it, for my time, my happiness, and reducing fighting between my husband and me! It’s so little, just hearing that you did it too, but it makes a difference, that I’m not crazy that it IS hard to clean, even if you are working only parttime!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI