Todays word: Obsessed

I am giving myself ‘permission’ to start up my blogging again with something that makes me happy.  The therapy can start later.

A while ago all of our non stick pans started to get all nasty and I was reading more and more about how those chemicals are not good for you.  But when I had done stainless steel in the past, they were a major pain in the ass to clean up.  Which led me to cast iron.  My mom always used her cast iron pans and I honestly don’t know why I hadn’t thought of it sooner.  I got one skillet pan and I am a complete convert.  Super easy to clean, goes from the stove top to the oven, and helps beef up my iron since I don’t eat that much red meat anymore.  When I say I’m a convert I mean I am OBSESSED.  For Christmas I wanted a cast iron dutch oven. I make a ton of soups in the winter and wanted to retire my non stick.  I was obviously a very good girl because I had one heavy ass box under the tree and it was my dutch oven.  Have I made any soup yet you ask?  Nope, but I am now even more obsessed than I was before and it is all because of this bread:

I have no idea how I stumbled across this woman’s blog but between her bread, her cultured butter recipe, and her famous mac n cheese, I just want her to adopt me.  Or I just want to make bread and butter all day long and get fat and be happy.  Seriously, this bread makes me so happy and is so ridiculously easy I’m almost embarrassed.  Since New Years I’ve made 5 different loaves for various occasions.  It makes my house smell good and makes me feel all domestic goddess like.   I made one today just so the house would smell like fresh bread on this rainy yucky day.  I’m planning on walking it over to a neighbor later.  I have a real problem.

January 16, 2013. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. herewegoajen replied:

    I was just thinking that I need a second cast iron dutch oven. I tried to make bread and soup on the same night.

  2. Deborah replied:

    Hey, totally unrelated to your post, but now that you’re blogging again, can you bring back the WTF series? I liked that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI