Today’s stealth mission

Today, every time I walk past, step over (or on), or otherwise notice a piece of plastic crap, I am going to pick it up and throw it away.  You know the stuff I’m talking about.  Most of it is smaller than a quarter and worth even less.  It’s the plastic spiders from Chuck E Hell, the magic ring from a carnival 6 months ago, bouncy balls from goody bags, and trash from the dollar store.  Somehow it all becomes “my special thing” and can’t be parted with.

I’ve said this before but today I’m serious.  I’ve got on a big hoodie sweatshirt with a pouch and will be loading it up.  Anything I see during the morning I’ll scoop up but naptime is when I’ll attack the playroom.  I’m sorry landfill but I can’t even pretend to clean or organize the playroom with all this crap.

I’ll give a status report tomorrow

January 23, 2013. Uncategorized.

5 Comments

  1. Mel replied:

    It feels so good to get rid of that junk. We do it every few months. Good luck!

  2. Battynurse replied:

    Lol. I love the chuck e hell. That’s awesome. Good luck.

  3. Gina replied:

    Love this! I totally throw that crap away on the sly ASAP. If I do it fast enough–like a day or two in, it hasn’t yet become a truly important object, and I don’t have to wait till he forgets!

  4. Not on Fire replied:

    I have a suggestion from the book “The Entitlement Trap”. They suggest a gunny sack that collects toys that have not been put away at the end of the day. You warn the child to find a home for the toy or it will be put in the sack. At the end of the week, the sack is opened. The child either puts the toy away right then or you donate/chuck the toy. When we started this we got rid of 4 big garbage bags of toys in the first month. It was great.

  5. suzie replied:

    Go for it but know you will never win over the mess.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI